Press Release

NEW YORK, Sept. 17 (PRNewswire) — Three educators have been selected to receive the 16th annual Harold W. McGraw, Jr. Prize in Education for 2003. By introducing students to technology at an early age, developing affordable post-secondary distance learning programs and influencing education policy to embrace high standards for all students, they have a distinguished record of achievement. They will be honored on September 23rd at a dinner at the New York Public Library.

“Kati Haycock, Mark Edwards and Carol Twigg are exemplary leaders who are committed to improving education using 21st century tools and ideas. By demonstrating a commitment to modernizing education in word and in deed, they are expanding the world of opportunity for future generations,” said Harold McGraw III, Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer of The McGraw-Hill Companies.

Dr. Mark Edwards – For 25 years, Dr. Mark Edwards has worked in education as a teacher, principal and superintendent earning his reputation as a results-oriented leader. Since 1994, Edwards has served as Superintendent of Henrico County Public Schools in Richmond, Virginia, leading a system of 65 schools, 44,500 students and 3,000 teachers.

Edwards has spearheaded the innovative use of technology to raise achievement in Henrico County through the Technology & Learning Initiative, one of the largest educational laptop programs in the country.

Technology integrated into the classroom in Henrico through professional development for teachers and required training sessions for parents has delivered impressive results. Student achievement increased in all subjects from 2001 to 2003, and all regular Henrico County Public Schools are fully accredited on the Virginia Standards of Learning assessment tests.

Kati Haycock – Kati Haycock serves as one of the nation’s leading advocates for children and high achievement in education. In 1990, she founded The Education Trust, a national organization dedicated to “the high academic achievement of all students at all levels – kindergarten through college.” The Trust is known as an authority on education reform and Haycock is regarded as a powerful voice in driving education policy at all levels. The organization concentrates on public elementary and secondary schools and colleges that serve students of color and those from low-income families, striving to provide a voice for those most likely to be left out of mainstream educational improvement efforts.

Under Haycock’s leadership, The Education Trust is also committed to equipping local communities with the tools needed to improve education for all students at all levels. Currently The Trust works with school districts and colleges in more than 40 communities and 22 states, assisting in raising teacher knowledge and skills through professional development and helping implement higher standards for students.

Dr. Carol Twigg – Dr. Carol Twigg is an internationally recognized expert in using information technology to transform teaching and learning in higher education. Since 1999, she has served as Executive Director of the Center for Academic Transformation at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. The Center serves as a resource for colleges and universities, providing leadership in transforming teaching and learning in higher education. In collaboration with 30 participating institutions, the Program has demonstrated how effective use of information technology can lead to significant improvements in student learning while reducing instructional costs.

Dr. Twigg has spoken extensively on the need to improve productivity in higher education and the process of engaging college faculty in the use of instructional technology.

“For 16 years, the Prize has recognized remarkable individuals who have committed themselves to improving our nation’s schools,” said Mr. McGraw III.”Kati Haycock, Carol Twigg and Mark Edwards embody the core purpose of the McGraw Prize: an unwavering dedication to changing the status quo and making high achievement possible for all students.”

The Harold W. McGraw, Jr. Prize in Education annually recognizes outstanding individuals who have dedicated themselves to improving education in this country and whose accomplishments are making a difference today. Honorees are chosen by a distinguished panel of judges made up of thoughtful and influential members of the education community. Each winner receives a gift of $25,000 and a bronze sculpture.

The Prize was established in 1988 to honor Mr. McGraw’s lifelong commitment to education, and to mark the Corporation’s 100th anniversary.

The two most recent U.S. Secretaries of Education were honored with the McGraw Prize in Education before each was appointed to their Cabinet positions. Richard Riley, who served as U.S. Secretary of Education from 1992 to 2000, received the Prize in 1989 for his work in raising educational standards as Governor of South Carolina. Current U.S. Secretary of Education Rod Paige was honored in 2000 for his success as superintendent of the Houston public schools.

Other past honorees include: The Honorable James B. Hunt, Jr., former Governor of North Carolina; James P. Comer, M.D., Maurice Falk Professor of Child Psychiatry, Yale University Child Study Center; Yvonne Chan, Ed.D.,Principal, Vaughn Next Century Learning Center; Mary E. Diaz, Ph.D., Dean of Education, Alverno College; Carl Cohn, Superintendent of the Long Beach Unified School District; Barbara Bush, founder of the Barbara Bush Foundation for Family Literacy; and Dennis Littky, Co-Director of The Met, and Director of the Principal Residency Network.

Founded in 1888, The McGraw-Hill Companies is a global information services provider meeting worldwide needs in the financial services, education and business information markets through leading brands such as Standard & Poor’s, BusinessWeek and McGraw-Hill Education. The Corporation has more than 320 offices in 34 countries. Sales in 2002 were $4.8 billion. Additional information is available at