Press Release

(Washington, DC) – The Education Trust has honored six universities for their  work in transforming school counseling programs both in higher education and in K-12 schools. With the passage of the new No Child Left Behind education law, it is more critical than ever to include school counselors in the effort to raise achievement for all students while closing the gap between groups of students.

These six universities are at the forefront of school counseling reform efforts and have proven themselves to be pioneers in the field by fundamentally changing the way school counselors are prepared. They are training school counselors to be more effective advocates for students and thus placing school counselors at the center of standards-based reform. “These universities are changing the way school counselors are prepared to work in today’s schools, and in doing so are directly impacting the lives of students in their communities,” said Reese House, Program Specialist for The Education Trust, upon making the announcement. “They are training school counselors to serve as advocates for all students, especially low-income students and students of color.”

“School counselors are ideally positioned to create opportunities for all students to reach high academic goals, but have all too often been left out of education reform efforts,” House continued. “The ongoing work of these universities ensures that future school counselors will be an integral part of closing the achievement gap that separates low-income and minority students from other students.”

These universities have been part of a six-year Transforming School Counseling Initiative with The Education Trust.

Honorees were recognized at The Education Trust’s National Conference in Washington, DC in November. The six universities honored and their representatives are:

California State University – Northridge; Charles Hanson

Indiana State University; Peggy Hines

Ohio State University; Susan Sears

State University of West Georgia; Brent Snow

University of Georgia; Richard Hayes and Pamela Paisley

University of North Florida; Carolyn Stone